Kimi No Na Wa ( Your Name)

I just finished watching Kimi No Na Wa and I can definitely say that this is THE BEST anime movie that I’ve watched so far.

WARNING! This contains some spoilers!

kimi-no

As you know, it’s been going around in Facebook lately. Some GUHIT Pinas artists made artwork based on this movie. Friends are posting about how good it is, he even compared it to Ano Hana (which almost made me cry). There’s also video from GameSpot   that featured it as well saying that this is the first anime outside Studio Ghibli and Miyazaki to earn more than $100 million.

kimi-no2

Art work by Mr. Jhondel Mimay, posted in GUHIT Pinas

I don’t know anything about the plot, I’m really just interested because of all the attention it’s getting. I mean it’s actually next to Ghibli and it’s earned that much for just….28 days (?) so it must be really amazing, right?

 


This is not your typical romantic love story. Seriously, it’s a kind of it’s own! It will definitely pull your heartstrings and make you cry (a bit).

It’s not really a time-traveling love story (like The Girl Who Leapt Thru Time). The story line may even get you confused in some parts like this one:

kim4kimi5

kimi1kimi2kimi3

This one got me thinking “What if Mitshuha is actually her grandma?”. Yeah, it’s stupid but after having a lot of plot twist in this movie, what else could not happen?

When it got clear that they’re switching bodies from time to time and they can’t remember much from it, that’s my first WTF moment in this movie (I don’t know the plot, remember?). When Taki started looking for Mitsuha and he discovered that she actually died 3 years ago, that’s when my chest actually started hurt. Damn, Ano Hana didn’t even made me feel that emotional (sorry for comparing but that (Ano Hana) is the first anime movie that actually ALMOST made me cry).

kimi

Oh! and that part in the mountain when Taki wrote his name on Mitshuha’s hand (it’s actually “I love you”), then Mitshuha disappeared, that’s when I actually started crying and it went on till they meet again.

Gosh, this movie is so good that even if I need to get up at 4 am tomorrow (it’s already 1am! that means I wont have enough sleep!) I’ll still go to bed contented because this is worth it.

P.S.

I emphasized the lack of sleep (or giving up few hours of sleeping time for  this) because for us moms, sleeping is actually a luxury.

4 thoughts on “Kimi No Na Wa ( Your Name)

Leave a Reply

