Why is there a sun?

One of the most fascinating experience that I think each parent experienced at one point is having to answer some not-so-easy questions of a toddler. You see, it’s nice to think that from a tiny little baby who’s kicking inside your tummy, your baby’s not so little anymore and she’s starting to wonder more about her surroundings.

As a mom, I already get to answer several questions and most of the time, my answer is “that’s just how it is”, but I’m gonna share something that happened last night.

We’re in bedroom waiting for dinner and we’re watching Fairy Tail (the anime, yes. We’re on Ep130). Erika, our 3-year-old daughter, was hugging Michael that time when she suddenly asked ” Papa, bakit may araw?” (“Papa, why is there a sun?”) Michael looked at me and I just raised my eyebrows. I’m also waiting for his answer. He said “Syempre para may liwanag tayo. Kung walang araw, edi laging gabi, lagi kang tulog nun. Gusto mo ba yun?” (“Of course, so that we can have light. If there’s no sun, it’ll be night time always, you’ll be sleeping all the time. Do you want that?”)  To this, Erika simply answered “Ayoko” (“I don’t like that”) and she buried her head to Michael’s chest again. By the time he’s giving his answer, I’m already laughing silently and when they’re done talking, he throw a pillow straight to my face. It’s the first time that my husband get to answer one of those ” Why” questions and it’s just fun listening to them talk like that.

Moms, what’s your child’s memorable question?

Leave a Reply

